Miguel, Stephan, Vagelis, Danai: Win ‘Best Student Paper’ Distinction in PAKDD’14.

Posted: April 30, 2014 | Posted in Awards

SCS team and BBN and ARL collaborators win ‘best student paper runner up’ award, at PAKDD’14. The citation is:

  • M. Araujo, S. Papadimitriou, S. Günnemann, C. Faloutsos, P. Basu, A. Swami, E. Papalexakis, and D. Koutra, "Com2: Fast Automatic Discovery of Temporal (‘Comet’) Communities," in PAKDD, 2014. [BIBTEX]
      author = {Miguel Araujo and Spiros Papadimitriou and Stephan G√ľnnemann and Christos Faloutsos and Prithwish Basu and Ananthram Swami and Evangelos Papalexakis and Danai Koutra},
      title = {Com2: Fast Automatic Discovery of Temporal ('Comet') Communities},
      booktitle = {PAKDD},
      year = {2014},

The paper describes a novel algorithm to spot time-evolving communities in large datasets. PAKDD is one of the top data mining conferences. The award ceremony will be on May 15,  in Tainan, Taiwan. Congratulations!